Overview

About half of the drugs approved for medical therapy in the last two decades have been derivatives of natural substances. Focused on oncology the proportion is even higher: 74% of all drugs against tumors are of natural origin and derived out of natural molecules or are inspired by them. Some examples are: Vinca alkaloids, taxanes, drugs acting on DNA topoisomerases, cytokines, and different enzymes.

MELEMA will take up that development tradition by focussing on natural molecules with positive effects upon the immune system. MELEMA starts its development with molecules or are inspired of them. Examples include Vinca alkaloids, taxanes, topoisomerase inhibitors, cytokines, and various enzymes. MELEMA builds on this development tradition by focusing on derivatives of natural substances with a strong influence on the immune system. E.g., works on MELEMA

ME-503

Lectins are glycoproteins that bind with high specificity to sugar molecules that, e.g. located on the surface of cells. ME-503 is a dimeric protein, one domain, the so-called B chain, binds to the surface of a target cell, while the other, the so-called A chain, is highly cytotoxic thanks to its enzymatic activity as 28S rRNA-N-glycosidase is.

ME-503 binds to specific receptor

ME-503 is an entirely new kind of biologicals. It is the only recombinant sialic acid-specific lectin in drug development that targets the specific α2,6-sialo-N-acetyllactosamine (CD75) and α2,6- sialo-N-acetylgalactosamine (sTn) both terminally bound to proteins and lipids of cell surfaces.

The binding here takes place via the ME-503-B chain, which triggers holoprotein endocytosis. The mechanism is reminiscent of the famous Trojan horse: As soon as ME-503 has been taken up by the cell, its A chain begins to modify ribosomal RNA (activity as a so-called type 2 ribosome-inactivating protein RIP).

Aviscumine

Mode of action of ME-503

This change leads to a complete and irreversible interruption of protein synthesis in the cell (inactivation of translation). This sudden stop of vital processes leads to an intense stress reaction (“ribotoxic stress”) of the cell, which in turn leads to phosphorylation of essential kinases and the initiation of programmed cell death, the so-called apoptosis.

Blocking protein production by inactivating the ribosomes is a cytotoxic mechanism that is only known by very few substances such as the ME-503. Most other cytotoxic agents either damage the DNA or react with the mRNA.

When ME-503 reaches in sufficient concentration, a target cell expressing the “ME-503 receptor” α2,6-sialo-N-acetyllactosamine (CD75) or α2,6 sialo-N-acetylgalactosamine (sTn), this perishes due to necrosis or apoptosis depending on the local concentration.

These glycan epitopes are overexpressed on many cells due to enhanced α2,6-sialyltransferase (ST6Gal I, ST6GalNAc) activity. These can be different tumor cells as well as certain immune cells (B cells, dendritic cells, regulatory T cells). The primary event is, therefore, cell death triggered by ME-503. In the case of immune cells, an immune cascade (immune stimulation at various levels) is set in motion, which is directed against cancer cells.

Possible uses

ME-503 is, therefore, a new active ingredient with cytolytic/cytostatic and immunotherapeutic activity. It can be used for direct intratumoral and subcutaneous injection.

Two examples from experimental research confirm this: The intratumoral injection of ME-503 reduces the injected lesions in a colon carcinoma model and causes there partial lysis – a principle similar to that of intratumoral administration of chemotherapy drugs or oncolytic viruses. Subcutaneous injection of ME-503 strongly stimulates CD4 + and CD8 + T cells, which recognize tumor antigens, infiltrate and kill the tumors. By this, e.g., in mice with lymphosarcoma, tumor growth is inhibited, and overall survival improved.

Clinical development

ME-503 has been administered to more than 130 patients in various clinical trials in phases I, I / II, and II using different application routes and with varying dosages, and has proven to be safe and well-tolerated. Also, a good response in solid tumors (stabilization of tumor growth) and thus a significant clinical benefit in both s.c. and local applications. In a phase II study in patients with metastatic skin cancer (melanoma), clear indications of effectiveness in terms of a possible improvement in survival time were obtained (Treffzer et al. 2014).

Überblick

Ungefähr die Hälfte aller in den letzten beiden Jahrzehnten zugelassenen Medikamente wurde aus natürlichen Substanzen abgeleitet. In der Onkologie liegt der Anteil der auf natürlichen Vorläufer-Molekülen basierenden Substanzen sogar noch höher: 74% aller gegen Tumore gerichteten Substanzen sind natürlicher Herkunft und von natürlichen Molekülen abgeleitet bzw. von ihnen inspiriert.

Beispiele sind u.a. Vincaalkaloide, Taxane, Topoisomerase-Inhibitoren, Zytokine und unterschiedliche Enzyme zu nennen. MELEMA knüpft an diese Entwicklungstradition an, indem es sich auf Derivate natürlicher Substanzen mit starkem Einfluss auf das Immunsystem konzentriert. Bspw. arbeitet MELEMA an

ME-503

Rekombinant hergestelltes Lektin aus Viscum album

Lektine sind Glykoproteine, die mit hoher Spezifität an Zuckermoleküle binden, die sich z.B. auf der Oberfläche von Zellen befinden. ME-503 ist ein dimerisches Protein, dessen eine Domäne, die sog. B-Kette, an die Oberfläche einer Zielzelle bindet, während die andere, die sog. A-Kette, dank ihrer enzymatischen Aktivität als 28S rRNA-N-Glykosidase stark zytotoxisch ist.

ME-503 bindet an spezifischen Rezeptor

ME-503 ist insofern ein völlig neuartiges Biological, da es das einzige rekombinante Sialinsäure-spezifische Lectin in der Arzneimittelentwicklung ist, das auf das spezifische auf Proteinen und Lipiden terminal gebundene α2,6-Sialo-N-acetyllactosamin (CD75) und α2,6 Sialo-N-acetylgalactosamin (sTn) auf Zielzelloberflächen abzielt.

Die Bindung hier erfolgt über die ME-503-B-Kette, was eine Holoprotein-Endozytose auslöst. Der Mechanismus erinnert an das berühmte trojanische Pferd: Sobald ME-503 von der Zelle aufgenommen ist, beginnt seine A-Kette damit, ribosomale RNA zu modifizieren (Aktivität als so genanntes Typ 2 Ribosomen-inaktivierendes Protein RIP) – s. Grafik.

Aviscumine

Wirkungsweise von ME-503

Diese Veränderung führt zu einer vollständigen und unumkehrbaren Unterbrechung der Proteinsynthese in der Zelle (Inaktivierung der Translation). Dieser plötzliche Stopp lebenswichtiger Prozesse führt zu einer starken Stressreaktion („ribotoxic stress“) der Zelle, die ihrerseits zur Phosphorylierung wichtiger Kinasen und zur Einleitung des programmierten Zelltods, der sogenannten Apoptose, führt.

Die Blockierung der Proteinproduktion durch Inaktivierung der Ribosomen ist ein zytotoxischer Mechanismus, der nur von ganz wenigen Substanzen wie dem ME-503 bekannt ist. Die meisten anderen zytotoxischen Wirkstoffe beschädigen entweder die DNA oder reagieren mit der mRNA.
Erreicht ME-503 in ausreichender Konzentration direkt eine Targetzelle, die den „ME-503 Rezeptor“, das α2,6-Sialo-N-acetyllactosamin (CD75)- oder α2,6 Sialo-N-acetylgalactosamin (sTn)-Protein, exprimiert hat, geht diese abhängig von der lokalen Konzentration durch Nekrose oder Apoptose zugrunde.

Diese Glykanepitope werden aufgrund verstärkter α2,6-Sialyltransferase (ST6Gal I, ST6GalNAc) – Aktivitäten auf vielen Zellen überexprimiert. Das können verschiedene Tumorzellen sowie bestimmte Immunzellen (B-Zellen, dendritische Zellen, regulatorische T-Zellen) sein. Das primäre Ereignis ist somit der durch ME-503 ausgelöste Zelltod. Im Falle der Immunzellen wird zugleich eine Immunkaskade (Immunstimulation auf verschiedenen Ebenen) in Gang gesetzt, die sich gegen Krebszellen richtet.

Anwendungsmöglichkeiten

ME-503 ist somit ein neuartiger Wirkstoff mit zytolytischer / zytostatischer und immuntherapeutischer Aktivität. Er kann daher zur direkten intratumoralen und subkutanen Injektion verwendet werden.

Zwei Beispiele aus der experimentellen Forschung belegen dies: Die intratumorale Injektion von ME-503 verkleinert die injizierten Läsionen in einem Kolonkarzinom-Modell und bewirkt, dass sie sich teilweise auflösen – ein ähnlich Prinizip, wie man es von der intratumoralen Applikation von Chemotherapeutika oder onkolytischen Viren kennt. Die subkutane Injektion von ME-503 stimuliert stark CD4 + – und CD8 + -T-Zellen, die Tumorantigene erkennen, die Tumore infiltrieren und abtöten, was zu einer Hemmung des Tumorwachstums und einer Verbesserung des Gesamtüberlebens in Mäusen mit einem Lymphosarkom führt.

Klinische Entwicklung

ME-503 wurde im Rahmen mehrerer klinischer Studien der Phasen I, I/II, II mehr als 130 Patienten auf unterschiedlichen Applikationswegen und mit verschiedenen Dosierungen verabreicht und hat sich dabei als sicher und gut verträglich erwiesen. Zudem konnte ein gutes Ansprechen bei soliden Tumoren (Stabilisierung des Tumorwachstums) und damit ein signifikanter klinischer Nutzen sowohl bei s.c. und lokoregionaler Anwendung gezeigt werden. In einer Phase II Studie an Patienten mit metastasierendem Hautkrebs (Melanom) konnten deutliche Hinweise zu Wirksamkeit im Sinne einer möglichen Überlebenszeitverbesserung gewonnen werden (Treffzer et al. 2014).